Makeup · Reviews

UD Vice Lipstick: My holy grail formula

IMG_9924.jpg

For most of my life, I have been a lip balm kind of girl. Sure, during middle school and maybe high school I remember using the different flavours of lip smackers lip gloss (remember those? Wow, I crack myself up), however for the last 7 years I had been using Burt’s Bee’s lip balm, and that was about it. About two years ago my lips suddenly underwent a change where they were extremely dry and flaky all the time. I hadn’t changed any medication or my diet, it just happened. ***Side thought here: Burt’s Bees was bought out by Clorox in 2007, so I am wondering if maybe the ingredients in Burt’s Bee’s underwent a grade change in the last couple of years, which is something that commonly happens when a smaller company is bought out by a larger giant to turn a greater profit. While the ingredients in the list may stay the same, the ones being used could have been replaced with a lower grade “equivalent”, and maybe this resulted in the product being less effective for me ***. At first, it was extremely frustrating because I had always been a habitual lip balm apply-er; it’s not like I was going on for long periods of time without anything on my lips. However, the Burt’s Bee’s lip balms were just not cutting it anymore, for some unknown reason. Finally, after months of total annoyance and no improvement, I went to Sephora for some help. They suggested the Jack Black Moisture Therapy lip balm, and this changed everything for me. All of a sudden my lips were fine again, totally hydrated, and I cannot express how thankful I was and still am. I do still need to wear the JB Moisture Therapy lip balm under most lip products though. Now, this is not a review of the Jack Black Moisture Therapy lip balm (although, I highly, highly recommend it. You will not find anything better in my opinion and it is very affordable $10 CAD), however, this lip balm all of a sudden enabled me to explore other lip products. I had never thought that I could wear lipstick, because I was too afraid of my lips peeling within an hour. But, with a layer of the JB Moisture Therapy underneath, a new world of lipstick and lip products in general was accessible to me.

My first venture into Urban Decay lipsticks was when I received an e-mail last December, stating that I could get a free birthday gift (It was a Moondust eyeshadow) with any purchase (maybe a minimum or $20 or something like that). I decided to try one of the Vice lipsticks. The shade I picked was Jilted, a beautiful fuchsia with a blue shift. Oh my god, when I received this lipstick I knew that it was my holy grail shade, and not only that, but also my holy grail formula. Of course I didn’t have much experience with lipstick formulas, but this one was so comfortable and maintained the hydration of my lips so well, that I just knew that it was the one. I even took this lipstick with me on my winter vacation to the Bahamas, where I wore almost no makeup the whole trip, except for this lipstick, and maybe some mascara.

Since that fateful day of receiving that lipstick, I have now collected 20 of the lipsticks in the UD Vice line. In the line there are just over 100 colours, so I think 20 is a pretty good sampling, therefore I wanted to do a review to share my love for these products.

IMG_9926
As you can see, I have 4 more spaces in my rack, therefore I need (at least ) 4 more to complete my collection 😛

Here are the claims on the UD website. It’s funny because the first line in the description says “Prepare to get hooked”. Yeah.. that’s exactly what happened to me. Just a note, I have truncated the description a bit because it is very long. The full description can be found here:

“Prepare to get hooked. Urban Decay Vice Lipstick comes in a massive lineup of 100 addictive shades and six indulgent finishes including matte lipstick to shimmer —our biggest lineup yet!
Our huge assortment also includes more finishes than ever before ranging from matte lipstick to cream lipstick to metallic lipstick:
MEGA MATTE: super-intense matte lipstick
COMFORT MATTE: our creamiest matte lipstick
CREAM: the original: creamy lipstick with badass luxury
METALLIZED: cream lipstick with a high level of pearl
SHEER: a punch of color with a sheer, shiny finish
SHEER SHIMMER: slightly transparent finish with floating pearl and a smooth texture

The pigment load in Urban Decay Vice Lipstick is insane! Just one swipe provides an unbelievable laydown of color. And every shade applies smoothly (without dragging or skipping), hugs lips, and feels amazing! Our proprietary Pigment Infusion System™ gives the formula its super-creamy texture, rich payout and superior color dispersion.

This creamy formula is loaded with nourishing ingredients. A yummy butter blend comforts, hydrates and enhances, leaving lips soft and conditioned, never dry. Aloe vera, jojoba, avocado and babassu oils nourish and soften lips. Illipe butter (derived from Malaysian illipe trees) provides long-lasting moisture. And Vitamin C and vitamin E provide a hit of antioxidants. All of these ingredients make this product the best lipstick for dry lips. If you are in the market for the best matte lipstick, best nude lipstick, or non-drying lipstick, look no further – this lipstick checks all of those boxes. And if that weren’t enough, Vice Lipstick is a cruelty-free lipstick product.”

Just a quick word on that last claim: Urban Decay is a cruelty free brand, however they are owned by L’oreal, who is not. A good rule of thumb is that if a company sells in China, it is almost always a NON-cruelty free brand, as Chinese law requires animal testing for products sold in China. More information can be found here.

So of the finishes, I have only bought and tried the comfort matte, cream, and metallized lipsticks. This is largely due to just my own preferences. Because I have such finicky lips (even with JB Moisture Therapy on) I didn’t want to bother trying any of the mega mattes. I have a few of the comfort mattes, and they are very matte (and very comfortable as the name suggests), so I personally don’t see a reason to try the mega mattes. However, I have heard that they aren’t that drying either. The creams of course are very rich and nourishing, and very high in pigment. I believe the texture of the metallized lipsticks depends on the particular one. Some of them can be very hydrating, but I have heard that some are a bit gritty and not as nourishing to the lips. I have not bought any sheer or sheer shimmer in the line, due to the fact that I am interested in intense colour payoff (If I am going to wear lipstick, you might as well be able to see it), although I have considered buying a few of those. Maybe in the future 😉

IMG_9928
Here are some of the special edition ones that I own. From left to right, I have two from the Nocturnal collection, one from the Alice Through the Looking Glass Collection, one from the Jean-Michel Basquiat Collection, one from the Gwen Stefani Collection, and most recently, one from the Naked Heat Collection. I just love the special packaging!

I think the claim that the pigmentation “is insane” is pretty close to true. There are a few that I own that take a couple of layers, but that doesn’t bother me, so long as they do actually build up to what I want them to look like. The creams especially glide on without any tugging, but I wouldn’t call the comfort mattes or metallized lipsticks difficult to apply. They maybe take just the tiniest bit more effort because of course, they are less creamy and emollient. Additionally, what I really love about these lipsticks is that, while they are not transfer proof, they fade evenly and actually a lot of pigment will remain even after drinking and eating. I am overall very impressed with these lipsticks.

To complete this review I have taken photos of swatches, and lip swatches of all of the ones that I own, so here they are.

 

IMG_9935.jpg

Violate1
Violate: Cream Dusty purple with pink undertone
ZZ1.jpg
ZZ: Cream Soft pink-purple. This one might be one of my favourite colours. It is also so comfortable to wear. I’m not sure what it is, but there is something extra special about the formula of this colour.
Backstab2.jpg
Backstab: Cream Plum-purple with red shimmer. This formula of this colour is extra-emollient. Some have complained about feathering because of this, but I haven’t encountered that.
Sabotage1.jpg
Sabotage (Sephora Exclusive): Cream Rose-plum with blue shift. I LOVE wearing this one in the winter.
Madhatter1.jpg
Mad Hatter (Alice Through the Looking Glass Collection): Metallized Bright purple shimmer. Even though this one is metallic, you can’t actually feel any of the glitter particles. It is still comfortable to wear and actually feels pretty emollient.
Menace1
Menace: Comfort Matte Medium fuchsia-pink. This is another one of my favourite colours. When I wear it, I feel so confident.
Psycho1.jpg
Psycho: Comfort Matte Bright rose with iridescent blue micro-sparkle. You can’t really see the sparkles in here, but I love them in this lipstick. It’s very fun.
Jilted1.jpg
Jilted: Cream Deep fuchsia shimmer with blue shift. Here is the OG!
Rocksteady1.jpg
Rock Steady: Cream Deep wine red. This is my favourite red. Because it is a bit darker, for me it feels more wearable.
Wrath1.jpg
Wrath (Sephora Exclusive): Metallized Metallic red. I LOVE how metallic this one is. And again, you can’t feel any texture.
Wonderland1.jpg
Wonderland (Gwen Stefani Collection, but also available in regular packaging): Cream Dark pink-red. The formula of this cream is actually one of the glossiest looking. It is very emollient.
Manic1.jpg
Manic: Cream Soft wine
Nonsense1.jpg
Nonsense (Nocturnal Collection): Comfort Matte Rose-pink
Ravenswood1.jpg
Ravenswood: Cream Dusty rose with red undertone. This colour is one of my every day go-to’s.
Backtalk1
Backtalk: Comfort Matte Mauve-nude pink. I think this is one of the most popular colours. It is my favourite during the fall and spring when I can get away with wearing cooler colours!
Naked1.jpg
Naked: Cream Nude-pink. This is one of the colours that takes a couple of coats to build up an even coverage. Seems strange for a nude, but it’s something to be aware of.
19931.jpg
1993: Comfort Matte Medium Brown. I was born in 1993, so had to have this.
Fuel1.jpg
Fuel (Naked Heat Collection): Cream Warm peachy nude. This shade also can go on the tiniest bit patchy, so takes a bit of layering.
Venom1.jpg
Venom: Cream Bright plum. I got this one as a sample size from Sephora.

Alright guys! I hope you enjoyed these pictures and I hope it makes you think about checking these lipsticks out if you haven’t already!

What colours do you own that I don’t!? I have 4 more spaces in my UD Vice lipstick rack.. therefore I need (at least) 4 more. Which ones should I get??

Thanks for reading!

 

9 thoughts on “UD Vice Lipstick: My holy grail formula

Leave a Reply

